How To Use Tinder Without Facebook In 2017

Ads

Tinder Without Facebook: In today’s age, there is hardly any person who hasn’t heard of Facebook. Facebook helps us stay connected, find people we used to know and make new friends! It is the most convenient and efficient platform to keep everyone updated about oneself. Since maximum people already have Facebook accounts it comes as no surprise that other applications offer a Facebook login option during registration. When you first register or make an account in an app you will have two options: create a whole new login ID and password or login through your Facebook account. It is obvious that to avoid hassles and the tedious task of remembering a new user ID and password, users would generally opt to login through their Facebook accounts. Especially for apps like Tinder. People tend to want to keep their dating life private and not mix it up with social apps like Facebook.

When you first register or make an account in an app you will have two options: create a whole new login ID and password or login through your Facebook account. It is obvious that to avoid hassles and the tedious task of remembering a new user ID and password, users would generally opt to login through their Facebook accounts. Especially for apps like Tinder. People tend to want to keep their dating life private and not mix it up with social apps like Facebook.

Ads

How To Use Tinder Without Facebook?

However, to register for Tinder one has to compulsorily login through Facebook. Here’s why:

Create a Profile Easily

Ads

Your Facebook account already holds all of your details, from birth date to place of study or work to your interests and hobbies, likes and dislikes and so on! Your Facebook account also already holds all of your pictures, your profile picture, your albums and so on. Thus once your Tinder is synced with Facebook it becomes much easier to create a Tinder profile rather than starting from scratch and having to upload information and pictures all over again!

Contact List

While syncing with Facebook Tinder asks if you want to sync your friend list as well. This is an easy way to communicate with people on Tinder since they could already be in your friend list. Tinder also scans your friend list and tries to match people to their Tinder profiles so you can rate them. This gives an assurance that your profile is indeed real and not just a fake account, since your contacts on Facebook and Tinder match.

Background Check

Facebook accounts come in handy to double check that the person is actually not lying or faking their profile. There could, of course, be fake Facebook accounts but ones with a lot of information and pictures tend to be real accounts. A compulsory Facebook login makes dating sites like Tinder more reliable since a user can just check out their match’s Facebook profile and can rely on it with much fewer worries. Fake accounts can lead to horrendous incidents. Logging in through Facebook accounts can prevent these.

While there is no way to completely ignore the need to login through Facebook, there are ways to minimize the role of your Facebook account in your Tinder profile. You will still have to login through your Facebook account but the involvement of your Facebook account in your Tinder account can be reduced. Here’s how:

Privacy Settings

 

 

Change your privacy settings on Facebook to avoid posts from Tinder from showing up on your wall or your friends’ walls. You can avoid publicising your Tinder profile by changing the settings in your Facebook account and hiding Tinder from your synced apps.

 

Log in to your Facebook account and go to the privacy settings. Click on the option “See more”. Here you can control which apps synced with Facebook should have how much access to your profile. Find the Tinder app and on the right side, there will be an ‘Edit’ option. Click on the option and you will see that by default it says “Visibility of apps and posts”. To change this, click on the ‘Only me’ option. Now nobody in your friend list will be able to see your Tinder posts apart from yourself.

Don’t sync Friend List

The maximum amount of people does not want their friends and families to know that they’re using Tinder. To avoid letting them know, set your Tinder to without Facebook friends. Initially, you could change this setting from within Tinder itself. Earlier all you had to do was click on a tick box in the Tinder settings to avoid syncing your friend list. But now, it is on default. You can avoid letting your friends know you’re on Tinder by going to your Facebook privacy settings and hiding Tinder posts from getting published onto your Facebook wall. This way you can prevent people contacting you through your Facebook instead of Tinder. Follow the steps in point number 1 to change your privacy settings.

Creating a Fake Profile

While this is definitely not recommended, by fake profile, we mean creating a new separate Facebook account, with no friends, and adding your information and pictures to this account. This way you can avoid mixing up your regular Facebook account and your Tinder profile. Also, people in your friend list will remain unaware of the fact that you’re on Tinder. But by no means should you create a false identity and/or fake account in the real sense, with false information and fake pictures or pictures of some other person. Be true to your identity and upload real information about your work, study, interests, hobbies, likes, personality and pictures.

Raise your Voice

Now most users must be peeved that they have to sync their real Facebook accounts with their Tinder profiles and let the whole world know they’re using a dating app. While this is not a sure shot solution, complaining to the company itself might help. If huge masses of people voted against having to compulsorily login through their Facebook account, Tinder is sure to take some steps at least to keep their users happy. Go to the Tinder app and in the settings option click on “Contact Tinder”. Here you can voice your grievances and give suggestions. Users can ask them to either provide an alternative login option or remove the option of logging in through Facebook completely. After all, an app only runs because of its users, the ultimate goal is to keep the users happy!

Now you can get back to your dating life in peace and secluded quiet!

Rate this post

Leave a Reply